Isinglass in chilled secondary

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thelusiv

Reaction score
[This started as a reply to this thread but I decided to make a new thread. However the last post in that thread was where I found the procedure for using the isinglass I got.]

The above information is quite helpful. But I have a few questions. First here's what I did already (note: all equipment was sanitized, not bothering to write all that).
  • Forgot to throw a whirfloc tablet into boil. Oops! It's a pale ale so I decided to do some post-fermentation clarifying. This is my first time trying this.
  • Got some isinglass from Northern Brewer (this stuff).
  • Racked from primary to keg, put keg in fridge at ~38°F, for about 24 hours.
  • Used a wine thief to remove about 500 mL of chilled beer. Chill haze is clearly present.
  • Added 1 packet (45 mL) of the isinglass solution from NB to chilled beer sample.
  • Put beer/isinglass mixture into the blender for about 2.5 minutes. Beer was just at 60°F when finished. Bottled, capped, refrigerated for about one hour.
  • Added re-chilled mixture to keg of beer. Stirred with brewing spoon. Removed ~8 oz sample in clear bottle for observation.
  • Attached CO2 to OUT post on keg, bled off oxygen. Moved CO2 to IN post. Set regulator at 12 psi.
My goal here is clear, carbonated beer by Saturday evening. I will siphon some out into a growler, not transfer to another keg, at that point. I'll leave the rest to continue clarifying and transfer it later.

Questions:

Will carbonating and clarifying work OK simultaneously?

Will this be reasonably close to clear in just a few days? The packet says 2 weeks - that long really? or is it mostly done a fair amount sooner than that?