Quantcast

Is malted barley considered a wheat?

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Location
FORT WAYNE
So I'm trying to figure out if barley is in the wheat family. Everything I read points in the direction that it is considered a cereal wheat. Can anyone shed light on this?
 

QuercusMax

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
705
Reaction score
94
Location
Twinsburg (Cleveland Southeast)
Barley is not a wheat. It's a cereal *grass*, but not a cereal *wheat*.

They're different species (Hordeum Vulgare vs Triticum Annuum), each in a different genus (Hordeum vs Triticum). They are in the same family, Poaceae, and the same tribe, Triticeae within that family.

I'm guessing you're asking due to gluten concerns? Wheat, Rye, and Barley all contain gluten, although wheat has much more than the others.
 

VikingChrisColby

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2013
Messages
95
Reaction score
26
Location
Bastrop
Barley and wheat are both cereal grains, but barley is not a type of wheat. Einkorn, emmer, spelt, durum and bread wheats are the major types of wheat. Barley is in a different genus (_Hordeum_) than wheat (_Triticum_).

[Edit: But, as QuercusMax mentions, they are in the same Family (and Subfamily) along with rye and oats. Corn and rice are also in the same Family, but not the same Subfamily, as wheat and barley.]

Chris Colby
Editor
beerandwinejournal.com
 
Top