Is bottling bucket necessary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markab

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm new to home brewing and am enjoying it very much. So far I've made several Cooper LME batches and I'm looking forward to moving up to doing some grain mash brew. I know several members her have suggested that a secondary fermentation container is not really necessary if you're not adding secondary hops, fruits, etc. I was wondering If I'm careful not to pull up any sediment (yeast cake) from the bottom of my fermenter if I can just bottle it from there? Is there another reason why people use bottling buckets? Thanks in advance for all your help.

Regards,
Mark

You could, but how will you mix priming sugar without stirring up all of the gunk?

I guess if you use carb tabs it might work, but IMO - a bottling bucket is a neccessity...

If you use carb tabs or the very tedious measuring and pouring in sugar per bottle, then I guess not. That after all, is how the Mr. Beer kit works.

You can do without but for they are not exactly expensive and will make things muc much easier. Unless of course you want yeasty beer.

Hi everyone,
I'm new to home brewing and am enjoying it very much. So far I've made several Cooper LME batches and I'm looking forward to moving up to doing some grain mash brew. I know several members her have suggested that a secondary fermentation container is not really necessary if you're not adding secondary hops, fruits, etc. I was wondering If I'm careful not to pull up any sediment (yeast cake) from the bottom of my fermenter if I can just bottle it from there? Is there another reason why people use bottling buckets? Thanks in advance for all your help.

Regards,
Mark
Mark,