IPA Recipe Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Csaga

Reaction score
Brewing an American IPA on Tuesday and wanted a critique of my planned recipe. It is as follows:

10 lbs American 2-row
2 lbs Vienna
2 lbs UK Maris Otter
1 lb Dark Munich
1 lb Golden Promise

Boil:
60 min - .5 oz Summit
20 min - Irish Moss
15 min - 1 oz Simcoe
10 min - 1 oz Amarillo
5 min - 1 oz Simcoe
0 min - 1 oz Amarillo, 1 oz Simcoe
Dry hop - 1 oz citra, 1 oz Amarillo

OG - 1.063
FG - 1.013
ABV: 6.4%
IBU 63
SRM: 6.5

The homebrew store is closeby, so it's not too late to change up this recipe if y'all think it's a total disaster. I'm relatively new to building my own recipes, so any advice is greatly appreciated!

5 different base malts?
I think its a bit over complicated. Id get rid of you golden promise and dark munich.
add a 1/2lb of a light crystal malt. and build the rest up with your 2-row

hopping looks pretty good. but maybe increase your 60 min to 0.75oz?

Brewing an American IPA on Tuesday and wanted a critique of my planned recipe. It is as follows:

10 lbs American 2-row
2 lbs Vienna
2 lbs UK Maris Otter
1 lb Dark Munich
1 lb Golden Promise

Boil:
60 min - .5 oz Summit
20 min - Irish Moss
15 min - 1 oz Simcoe
10 min - 1 oz Amarillo
5 min - 1 oz Simcoe
0 min - 1 oz Amarillo, 1 oz Simcoe
Dry hop - 1 oz citra, 1 oz Amarillo

OG - 1.063
FG - 1.013
ABV: 6.4%
IBU 63
SRM: 6.5

The homebrew store is closeby, so it's not too late to change up this recipe if y'all think it's a total disaster. I'm relatively new to building my own recipes, so any advice is greatly appreciated!