Intro Post, Former Extraction Tech

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kelsowitworth

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a new brewer with a bit of a chemistry background. I used to work as a cannabis extraction tech so if anyone has any questions about Supercritical CO2 Fluid Extraction, sonication, distillation, flash chromatography or dosage control I can probably be helpful there.

Excited to get brewing! Aside from helping my dad with a blonde ale back when I was younger, I'm starting my first project with an apple cider.

Hello,

I'm a new brewer with a bit of a chemistry background. I used to work as a cannabis extraction tech so if anyone has any questions about Supercritical CO2 Fluid Extraction, sonication, distillation, flash chromatography or dosage control I can probably be helpful there.

Excited to get brewing! Aside from helping my dad with a blonde ale back when I was younger, I'm starting my first project with an apple cider.
I think you should team up with someone or grow your own hops and then use your experience to extract the hop oils. You'll find them very useful for certain aspects of your home brew journey. I wouldn't mind a 101 on how to do this as a friend has a still and I'm growing some hops. Distilling alcohol is legal here in NZ.

I think you should team up with someone or grow your own hops and then use your experience to extract the hop oils. You'll find them very useful for certain aspects of your home brew journey. I wouldn't mind a 101 on how to do this as a friend has a still and I'm growing some hops. Distilling alcohol is legal here in NZ.