Intergalactic Smoothie(NEIPA ish experiment)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jklett

Reaction score
The hop schedule is more dependent on fermentation rather than actual days, this is also my first from scratch recipe so I'm hopeful that it'll come out how I am picturing it in my head. I'll let y'all know if it works out how I intended in a few weeks, I am very optimistic. Also, the second flaked oats is not a different brand, I just added another 2# and wanted to differentiate it from the first 2#. Brewing it now.
Screenshot 2021-04-22 110022.png

I missed my OG by 34 points(came out to 1.052 instead of 1.086), I'm still trying to figure out where I went wrong. So far everything I've brewed has been within a few points either way but this is way off. It's my first time using oats, maybe that had something to do with it. It's as if the only thing that converted was the Maris Otter. I'll continue as planned with the rest of the process and see how it turns out flavor wise. I can deal with a session ale.

I missed my OG by 34 points(came out to 1.052 instead of 1.086), I'm still trying to figure out where I went wrong. So far everything I've brewed has been within a few points either way but this is way off. It's my first time using oats, maybe that had something to do with it. It's as if the only thing that converted was the Maris Otter. I'll continue as planned with the rest of the process and see how it turns out flavor wise. I can deal with a session ale.
This is VERY low yes, what did your crush look like on the MO, malted oats, white wheat? Do you own your own mill? 25% flaked oats - its pretty darn sticky eh? Do you sparge?