infected pumpkin ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bgs8884

Reaction score
I am in the 2nd week of my secondary fermenter of a pumpkin ale i have made.

i just went to check on it in my closet and found some strange things going on top. i fear that it may be infected and could be a lost batch.

can anyone tell if it is infected?
if so, is there any salvaging the batch?

tumblr_lrfnfkWdtP1qi2pbp

tumblr_lrfnfkWdtP1qi2pbp

I'm far from an expert on this subject, but I'd say by the look of what seems to be a couple fuzzy spots in that second picture, it's probably growing something...... Not of this world? J/K Only way to really tell is let it go and try it later. Nothing can grow in beer that'll kill ya. May be a bit sour though.

Yeah looks like a pellicle (infection). You never know with these, could turn into a great, weird sour pumpkin ale in a year. Let it finish out, bottle it, and open one in a year.

i got nervous and bottled tonight. i will check back sometime in about a month.
it actually doesn't taste very bad and still has the same scent as it did prior to putting it into the secondary.

all the spice flavoring has been masked however. which is a shame bc when it put it into the secondary it tasted awesome

Be careful with those bottles. Might wanna put them in a plastic bin or something that holds water. I had a case grenade on me in the bedroom and destroyed the carpet under the cardboard box they were in. swmbo was NOT happy.

Boris_the_Russian said:
Be careful with those bottles. Might wanna put them in a plastic bin or something that holds water. I had a case grenade on me in the bedroom and destroyed the carpet under the cardboard box they were in. swmbo was NOT happy.