Indoor brewing and ventilation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yooper

Ale's What Cures You!
Staff member
Admin
Mod
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I thought I would show my low tech method for providing ventilation for Indoor brewing.

In the summer our climate is warm and a little humid so I open the door and blow a fan. in the winter our climate is dry and cold so I blow the evaporation the other way into the rest of the house.

I would like to invest in a range hood someday but I've been doing this now for about six years and so far so good!

image.jpg

I think that is fine. Especially in the winter when you actually WANT more moisture in the house.

But, people need to understand that there are a few variables, like how big is your batch size and how big is your house! You can actually put too much moisture in a house in the winter if your batch size is large and your house is small.

Also, people may want to check listings in their area for old furnaces. They usually have a usable blower motor. Fabricating a hood is pretty easy. The hard part is finding a way to get it vented outside!

I will dog pile on this as well and show my "low tech" brewery ventilation. I feel sometimes people want to over complicate this problem running temporary ductwork etc. Not that I have anything against a proper hood and vent system if that's in your budget and desire. A simple fan moves a lot of air IME, and all you really need is to expel most, not all of the steam, and exchanging fresh air in the house. Letting my fan run during the boil and also for 20 -30 minutes post boil airs out the basement pretty well.

I think that is fine. Especially in the winter when you actually WANT more moisture in the house.