Improvised lager fermenting/brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wwhorton

Reaction score
I've been brewing ales for a couple of years now with some success. I live in Maryland, on the Bay, in a poorly-insulated, drafty old house. This means that I tend to make estery ales or higher-temp yeast ales in the summer and fall, and lower-temp ales in the winter and spring. The coldest I can get my brewing area in the summer is about 65F using a window unit, but by just not turning on the heat I can drop it to about 60F in the winter. Space is limited, and I don't have a freezer I can use for lagering.

I say all that to say this:

While I'm very happy sticking to ales there are a few lager styles I've always enjoyed and besides, I'd like to broaden my horizons. I'd love to make a schwarzbier, for example. Let's say that I can't get a chest freezer suitable for lagering. I have three options that I can see.

First, use something like Wyeast 2112. It's not recommended for the style, but it's a lager yeast that will ferment in the 60s without issue. The idea is I'd then lager in my refrigerator until my wife gets fed up. I realize the fridge temps aren't necessarily ideal lagering temps, but there it is.

Second, approach the problem from the other end by fermenting outside with a thermostat and a space heater in my shed or something. We've had a crazy winter so far, with temps ranging from the low 70s to the teens, but it seems to have stabilized in the 30s. I could lager outside as well, presumably.

Third, pick a regular ol' lager yeast that can handle slightly above normal temps (maybe like Wyeast 2124) and just live with it at the upper edge of the range, then hope that extensive lagering will clear up any funky flavors.