Imperial IPA Recipe help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhotogBrewer

Reaction score
First post here. I have reading the forum often after I started brewing 18 months ago. I am working on a DIPA and have alot of Cascade and Chinook in the freezer that I would like to use up. Any problems or advice on how to improve this recipe?

BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Beaglenado DIPA
Brewer: PhotogBrewer
Asst Brewer:
Style: Imperial IPA
TYPE: All Grain

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------

Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Bottling Volume: 5.00 gal
Estimated OG: 1.086 SG
Estimated Color: 8.2 SRM
Estimated IBU: 113.6 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 72.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 72.0 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
13 lbs Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 82.5 %
8.0 oz Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 2 3.2 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 3 3.2 %
8.0 oz Honey Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 4 3.2 %
4.0 oz Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM) Grain 5 1.6 %
1 lbs Corn Sugar (Dextrose) (0.0 SRM) Sugar 6 6.3 %
2.00 oz Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 90.0 min Hop 7 86.3 IBUs
0.75 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 45.0 min Hop 8 11.8 IBUs
0.50 oz Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 30.0 min Hop 9 15.5 IBUs
0.25 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 mins) Fining 10 -
2.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 11 0.0 IBUs
1.00 oz Chinook [13.00 %] - Boil 0.0 min Hop 12 0.0 IBUs
1.0 pkg San Diego Super Yeast (White Labs #WLP09 Yeast 13 -
1.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 14 0.0 IBUs
1.50 oz Chinook [13.00 %] - Dry Hop 7.0 Days Hop 15 0.0 IBUs

Created with BeerSmith 2 - http://www.beersmith.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------