I think i got it!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

idtapit

Reaction score
So I am new to kegging, and I have always been told different numbers to set my serving pressure at, but after doing a lot of reading I think I found it out but I want to check with everyone and see what they think. So if have 5.3 ft of 3/16 serving line and a desired output pressure is 2.48 (amber beer) to have the correct carbonation for pouring I would set my regulator to about 22 psi correct? That's accounting for pressure lost in tubing etc..

No, that's totally wrong. Leave your serving pressure set to whatever pressure you carbed the beer at. If you have foaming you might want to consider just increasing the line length. I use 12' lines and everything is just perfect. I've run beers from 10psi to 18psi with no foaming issues. You definitely don't want to set your Amber ale pressure to 22psi. And remember, whatever you set it to the beer will eventually equilibriate to over time, hence the reason to not have a different serving pressure than your carbing pressure.

Rev.

Well damn :( what about the friction lost in the 3/16 tubing? I have one line this is 5.3 ft that has a shank on it and the other is 3 ft with a picnic tap. Can you tell me what you would set the serving pressure on those? Same as pressure I carb at as well? Or can you give me a good idea on some servicing pressures on different styles of beer?