I messed up. I could use some advice.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bababooey

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to brewing and this is my first time posting a question. So far I've been pretty successful brewing DME with specialty grains. Last night I decided to brew 2.5 gallons of an IPA I put together on beersmith. It was supposed to get 5 lb. of light DME (2 lb. at beginning of boil and remaining 3 lb with about 15 minutes left). For some reason that I can't explain, I accidentally used a total of 7 lb. I didn't realize this until I took my hydrometer reading. I was expecting an OG of around 1.075, but ended up with 1.120. I quickly started retracing my footsteps and realized what I've done. I'm planning on just dumping it out in the back yard but was wondering if I just added an additional 2.5 gallons of water and re-pitched the appropriate amount of yeast if I could somehow turn this into a "kind of" hoppy pale ale. Any input is greatly appreciated.

Do not dump. This is totally salvageable. Just add some sanitized water (Brita filtered or boiled and cooled) to the fermenter until you get your OG down. Then pitch more yeast. The worst thing that will happen is that you'll have slightly under hoped IPA or APA. But I bet it will still be great.

It should be good. You might want to taste it and up the dry hopping a little bit to make up for some of the hops you are missing.

Man, I was really hoping I'd get responses like this. Do you think it'd be okay if I waited until tomorrow which would be approximately 48 hours later?

Yeah do that. You can also throw some dry hops in after primary ferm is done. Won't add any bitterness, but at least it'll bring the hop presence back up where I'm guessing it was supposed to be.