I know, I know... Afraid I ruined my first batch....

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J_to_the_B

Reaction score
Ok, to begin with I promise I DID read the FAQ and all pertinent stickies, I'm doing my best to RDWHAHB, but man, I'm getting anxious...:(:confused::(

I started brewing my first ever batch last week using this kit on this equipment. I followed all the instructions from the kit and equipment, as well as heeding the sage advice found in How to Brew...

Here's my issue. My kit was shipped to south Mississippi in the dog days of summer, and because of in-laws that didn't know any better, the yeast sat in the garage for about a day and a half (heat index was 107). As soon as I realized it was out there (supposed to be a birthday surprise from SWMBO) I refrigerated it. The yeast was a Wyeast Smack Pack.

Additionally, I smacked the pack only about and hour and a half before I pitched it into my ice-bath cooled wort at just under 80 degrees Farenheit. It's been sitting for 6 days now near an A/C vent at a temp of about 74-76 Farenheit and is only showing a very minimal Krausen (hoping it's not actually just bacteria). I got really worried a day ago and made up a starter out of my other Wyeast pack, which also didn't seem to be doing anything... I pitched it anyway, but the whole batch seems to be progressing very very slowly. It's only been a week, and it smells ok through the airlock, but I'm worried I effed this one up..............

------------------------------------
TL;DR - Newbie thinks he messed up his beer. Advice please! :drunk: