I graduated...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bzwyatt

Reaction score
Got a couple MrB kits at Christmas, brewed a couple of their light lagers, a patriot lager, a porter and an amber ale. Last couple batches are in bottles right now. Tonight I did my first brew with a partial boil. Got a recipe for Belgian IPA with pale malt extract and 4 specialty malts, 2 different hops and Belgian ale yeast. Man it smelled good and everything went smooth. It is in my LBK, hope it tastes good...

So no more extract-only brewing for me!

Congrats!

I have had good extract beers, but you'll probably never look back.

welcome to the real show :) extract beers can be really good but after you get into grain its just not the same. here Ill do it since no one else will. *hands you your big boy pants and shakes your hand* welcome to the men's club!

So I haven't had any of my beers made with specialty grains and hops, but I think they will be great. I was disappointed with the MrBeer results, and wondered if I did something wrong, but I knew I didn't... but they didn't taste that great... I had a taste of an amber ale I made, while bottling, and I had some of the Belgian pale ale for a gravity reading, and they both tasted excellent, even though they weren't ready yet. So I think HME probably sucks, and maybe MrBeer just have sucky recipes. The only people who liked them were my brother's girlfriend and a guy's wife who tried it. They both thought they were great, and one guy said he liked that it didn't have a bitter taste! Ha!