I Finally Took the BIAB Plunge

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigbeck81

Reaction score
So I've been homebrewing for a little over 4 years now and had only done extract batches until this past Labor Day weekend. I've wanted to switch to all-grain for some time and thought that going the BIAB route was a nice transition. Overall, I think it was a success and I'm kicking myself for not taking pictures, as I see so many of you who have also taken the plunge have. Here's a breakdown of how my brew day went:

I brewed on Sunday so I could allow myself the luxury of drinking on Sunday without worrying about Monday morning at work. It was a beautiful day in Northern VA and my buddy was there to watch and drink with me. I decided to go with a no-sparge BIAB, using my 10 gallon kettle to brew up Reno's well-known and often-brewed Punkin Ale clone. I was confused as to whether or not I should count the pumpkin as part of the grain bill. I decided not to and measured my water based on the 12 pounds of grain. My brew kettle hardly had any room to spare after adding the pumpkin and grain.

I heated my strike water up to 163 and after doughing in, the temp only dropped to 159 and I was looking to hit 156. Perhaps more stirring next time will help get that temp down. I also thought it wasn't a big deal since I'd lose some temp during the 60 minute mash and it would probably spend the majority of the time at 156. Nope - my kettle held the temp of 159 the entire 60 minutes - which is great to know it can hold temps like that, but not so great when trying to hit an exact mash temp.