I bought a used CO2 tank off but......

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stompbox

Served up in the backyard
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I found a cheap CO2 and bought it but it is far outdated (last certified 12/98) and I have no idea how many pounds it is.

1. How can I tell what size this is? It is a STEEL tank that is about 14" tall x 5" diameter. I am not even sure I can exchange a 2.5 pound tank when this is empty.

2. This tank is past its cert date but it feels like it is or about full. Is the CO2 good to use, keep in mind that it could be as old as '98.

I am sure I will have many questsions later, i am an absolute newb to the kegging world.

Thanks!

If you want 100% answers on size and certification you will have to take it to your local welding supply house. They are also the ones that would exchange it for you when it is empty. The CO2 is still fine to use. It doesn't go bad.

Can you get us a photo of any markings around the top of the tank?

If it's a steel tank and you aren't interested in keeping the same one just use it until it's empty and exchange it.
Co2 isn't going to go bad.

-cheers

agree with above posts, the co2 won't go bad - its a gas not a tank full of milk. The tank will be stamped with a weight somewhere. look around for a fire extinguisher testing place that will recirt tanks, they will pressure test it and fill it for you.

If it's a steel tank and you aren't interested in keeping the same one just use it until it's empty and exchange it.
Co2 isn't going to go bad.

-cheers

I am not sure that my local beer distributor has 2.5 pound tanks for exchange.... That is why I want to know its size.

I will get some photos posted in a little bit... Thanks in advance!