HUGE beer, Probably stuck fermentation. Need Advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedBeered

Reaction score
Forgive me, Im new to this, but here is the lowdown.

My buddy and I have a Russian Imperial Stout in primary right now. It's been there since September 25. This beer is MASSIVE, which is what we were going for, but there was a miscalculation in the recipe.

This is the 2nd RIS we've done. The first one was fairly huge at an OG of 1.101, but it was all grain. We wanted to go bigger with this one. We shot for an OG of 1.200. We researched a lot beforehand and decided to go with WLP1099 yeast. We brewed an Irish Red as a starter, bottled that and pitched directly on the yeast cake.

Brewing process for this one is all-grain for the most part, but this one had (not looking at the recipe) ~5lb of Pale Malt Extract, 2lb Sugar, 4lb Honey (into primary) to increase fermentability.

Brew day: 8 Gallon, 2 step mash (intended) with steps at 144 (1hr) and 155 (1hr). Mash tun got stuck in the process of moving to the second step and we ended up at 155 for 25-30 minutes before mash out. We did an extended boil down to 5.5 Gallons (Here is where our miscalculation was. We didnt account for the increased boil time. It was an oversight, we knew we needed to.)

Basically, we WAY overshot our already ridiculous OG ending at about 150% (according to beersmith, 1.274).