How would you do it ? Bottle some, keg the rest

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingfan13

Reaction score
So I am just getting into kegging and am trying to figure out the easiest way to bottle some and keg the rest. I use 22oz bottles and brew 5 gallon batches.

I want to bottle about a gallon and keg the other 4. What would be the best way to prime/carbonate my bottles ? I want to force carb the keg so adding priming sugar to the bottling bucket wont work. How would you go about it ?

Thanks for the info !

So you want to force carb the keg. Why don't you wait till the beer is carbed then fill bottles from the tap or use a bottle filler?

Do you want to force carb the keg, but carb the bottles with sugar?
Then all you would do is rack to your keg, then immediately push a gal to a bottling bucket . Add your priming sugar for one gallon and bottle.

Not sure what you are asking.

I was up against the same dilemma.

Bottling from the keg makes the most sense. There are plenty of how-to's out there, and bobby_m even has a youtube video.

Basically, after the beer's been conditioned in the keg, turn the serving pressure down to 5psi or less, and dispense through picnic tap/tubing into the bottle. Top with beer foam (to purge oxygen), and cap as usual.

this way, you're not worried about over/under priming, and can always fill more bottles. Plus, no sediment in the bottles.

I have a kegerator kit on order and already had some cornys. For my last batch (8 gallons), I racked from my fermenter (10 gallon corny) to a five gallon corny without priming and then the rest into a bottling bucket. My estimates were spot on and I ended up with three gallons in the bottling bucket. Primed that according to the tastybrew priming calulator.