how to use and store yeast vial

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewBoy19

Reaction score
I bought a vile of yeast for making an ale. it is an english ale yeast. anything specific to do before pitching it? I've never used yeast in a vile before. also I won't be making it for a couple of days. How should I store it? when i bought it they had it in a cooler area, but my fridge feels colder. Is it ok to just put it into the fridge?

Nooooooooooooooo, don't put it in a fridge, cold of any sort is not good for yeast. Yeast is a bacteria, which means it is just as vulnerable to extreme temperatures as you and me. If you leave it in a snug cupboard it should be just fine.

Nooooooooooooooo, don't put it in a fridge, cold of any sort is not good for yeast. Yeast is a bacteria, which means it is just as vulnerable to extreme temperatures as you and me. If you leave it in a snug cupboard it should be just fine.

I'm no expert, but I seriously question this advice.

I have always heard to store it cold, until you are ready to pitch, smack the pack, or build a starter.

Store it in the fridge, it will keep them dormant. Just don't let it get close to freezing. Before You use it let it warm up to room temperature well in advance. A starter is most likely advised, if its a big beer then it is kind of mandatory. I had the same questions, I've been reading non-stop on the subject since this morning.

Yeast is not a bacterium. And storing it in the fridge is fine.

Store it in the fridge and remove it a few hours before pitching or making a starter to reduce the potential shock and wake them up.

Yeast is not a bacterium. And storing it in the fridge is fine.