How to Tell if Grains are Bad?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

secinarot

Reaction score
I have quite a variety of leftover pre-crushed grains that I bought from NB back in December. I have been meaning to use some of them up in an Imperial Stout recipe but have been unable to find the time to brew for the past month! I read some other threads on this board about storage of grains. My question is how do I know if they have gone stale? I tasted them and I don't pick up any flavors that I would classify as stale, however I've never tried tasting grains before so I have no point of reference as to what fresh grains taste like.

Is there anyway that I can tell if these are good enough to use? Where I am planning to do a Stout will that mask any subtle stale flavors that a lighter beer may otherwise show through?

OP
S

secinarot

Reaction score
Does the age affect the grain's ability to be converted into sugars or just produce off flavors?

In the future I'm thinking I will buy the specialty grains uncrushed. However I don't have a grain mill. Will a rolling pin work on small amounts of specialty grains (i.e. less than a pound each)?

hcarter

Reaction score
:off: I looked at the title of this thread and thought it said, 'How to tell if girls are bad.'

DeathBrewer

Maniacally Malty
Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
Does the age affect the grain's ability to be converted into sugars or just produce off flavors?

In the future I'm thinking I will buy the specialty grains uncrushed. However I don't have a grain mill. Will a rolling pin work on small amounts of specialty grains (i.e. less than a pound each)?
yep, I usually just use a wine bottle.

It could certainly affect the enzymes and make for poor conversion. It could also taste "stale" and bland.

OP
S

secinarot

Reaction score