How to get ABV?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpowelle5

Reaction score
I know, I know - this question has been asked 100+ times and yet here it is again... (-:

I am a newbie and want some clarification. I understand how to take the OG reading before pitching the yeast; I understand how to take the FG reading after full fermentation.

After some diligent research I also now know that unless you adjust those readings based on the temperature you are taking the readings you will have incorrect data.

Question #1 - What is the correct calibration for hydrometers? Is it 1.000 at 59F or 1.000 at 60F or 1.000 at 68F? I have seen all three.

Question #2 - How do I calculate ABV? Again did diligent research and found a variety of methods, online calculators, simple math equations, ect. Which one is correct?

I.E. OG - FG / 0.00738 or OG - FG * 129 or OG - FG * 131

Here is my OG based on taking the reading at 75F and using calibration of 59F for the hydrometer: reading was 1.060 adjusted to 1.062 based on temperature correction.

Here is my FG based on taking the reading at 68F and using calibration of 59F for the hydrometer: reading was 1.022 adjusted to 1.023 based on temperature correction.

Here is what I think the ABV is base on different calculation:
5.28 or 5.03 or 5.10

See where I am coming from? Thanks in advance for any insight into the correct way to (a) take the hydrometer reading & (b) determine ABV.

Jp