How many competitions did it take you to win your first medal?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
To answer your question though, I started brewing in 2014, I entered 8 beers into the Ky State Fair that year and placed 3 beers. Got 1-2nd place and 2-3rd place so I was pretty pumped about placing for my first try. Ever since then I enter in around 15-18 beers/meads into the State Fair every year and normally pick up a few ribbons each year. I always shoot for the 30+ Scores and try to learn from the judges comments. Most comments are controlling fermentation temp or not pitching enough yeast. Anyhow hope that helps.

Agreed. Short of winning a medal, the goal in the back of my head has been at least in the 30's for a score. I feel like at that, it tells me that we're not making sh*t beer, you know? I entered a brown ale for my first comp and it did fairly well, got a 42 and a 39, but still no medal for that one. I love that beer and I was bummed that it didnt' place. But same thing, comments were about controlling fermentation, even though I do that.

Speaking of "gold," where are all these competitions that are handing out medals, rather than ribbons, for flight awards. Maybe it's just the particular competitions that I have entered in the past, but it was almost always ribbons for flight winners and medals in BOS rounds.

Or does "gold" just sound better than "blue?"

One of the ones I just registered for is the Delafield Brewhaus Schnapp Hans cup. They give out medals, see below. This are usually what I'm seeing when I enter. The ribbons are the minority from what I've found...

1628775051879.png