How long does a sanitized item remain sanitized

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave8fire

Reaction score
Newbie here, I am ready to start my second batch, first batch wasn,t bad. I wonder after an item is sanitized how long will it stay sanitized? First go round I used bleach, and rinsed. I guess what would be a rule of thumb for the time sanitizing takes place to the time you would have to start to worry that the little floaty things in the air have infected your equipment?

Can I sanitize all the stuff and place it in a clean primary bucket and put a lid on it and use it the next day?

All that I have read indicates that more times than not if a batch fails its because something wasn't clean.

Lastly, is there one preferred product for sanitation?

thanks

dave althouse

first off i would get a no rince sanitizer , the 2 favorites here are idophor and starsan....
you can use either in a spray bottle

i usually mix up a batch in an extra bucket and throw the gear in it when im not using it on brew day.... i wouldnt leave it laying around....
star san will last a while but what do you need to use the next day ?
fo my hydrom. readings i keep starsan in a spray bottle and just spray my turkey baster before use

IMO, bleach is a bad idea. For one thing, you HAVE to rinse it in order to not F-up your brew. IF the water you rinse with has anything bad in it (most do, at low levels, but it's still there), including other chlorine based chemicals, you're in for trouble.