How long can wort last before pitching yeast?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b33r_br3w3r

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the forum so forgive me if this is a question that is overly obvious. I'm also new to brewing, I've done two extract batches and that's it.

My brother and I went to a group brew event yesterday and each came home with 5gal of Black IPA wort (SG 1.060). Because we were both really busy and didn't have the foresight we don't have a yeast starter ready to pitch. I just went and purchased our yeast this morning but I'm wondering what to do? I got two smack packs which I've just activated. Do I wait the 3 hours to confirm viability of the yeast and then pitch them or should I go ahead and make a starter?

Is the risk of the wort getting infected greater or is the risk of not having healthy yeast to pitch more? Also, if it matters, we have one glass carboy and a bucket with the wort. I do have another carboy that I could transfer the wort that's in the bucket currently to but not sure if it matters.

Thanks for any help in advance.

Assuming this is wort that has already been boiled at this point you can do either with the yeast, personally I would activate and pitch. It should be fine if your sanitation and wort storage procedures were sound, if you are going to wait 48hrs+ for your starter then you might loose patience and your head could explode from worry.

I was forced to wait 24 hours once. Things turned out ok. It does depend on your sanitation.