how does one moniter FG

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Djlunchbox

Reaction score
specificly, how do you not introduce bad stuff when trying to take a sample? if i want to check my fermentation progress, and i am using a 6.5 gal bucket with a blow off tube, am i just supposed to crack it open and pull a sample ? i use "the thief" to pull samples. i just don't want to introduce bacteria from the air. all my stuff will be sanitized with star-san before i start. is this the best way?

I'm a noob, but I wouldn't worry so much about it. First of all, don't check it until the airlock has stopped bubbling (or pretty close, less than one a minute). Then check the SG -but don't freak out, sanitary and sterile are very different things. -if you have alcohol and active fermentation (even recently active fermentation) you aren't likely to get an infection in the few moments it takes to take a sample.

When you take your first reading, insteand of tossing it pour it into an empty bottle. I don't worry about sanitizing it and I just plug the top with a paper towel (an infection is a sample bottle is not a big deal). I keep the bottle right on top of may primary bucket. When I want a gravity reading I just pour from the bottle, take the reading and pour in back.

Presuming you aren't opening the bucket every 20 minutes, there should be a cloud of CO2 on top of your beer that will do a pretty good job of keeping anything out. Just make sure you clean and sanitize your thief before you stick it in there.