Hops are in...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GusWatab

Reaction score
I know I am a little late in getting these in the ground but we had some frost advisory's the last couple days in MN and it is still May so I should be ok....right?? I was finally able to carve out enough time last night to get them in the ground. I planted 2 rhizomes of Cascade and 2 rhizomes of Nugget. This is my first year planting hops and I look forward to this project. I dug out 4 holes and filled them back in with composted soil and planted the rhizomes about an inch below the soil. Poured some water on them and now the waiting starts. I plan on inserting a 8-10 ft pole in the ground where the center stake is. I will screw an eyelet at the top of the pole and run ropes from one hop mound, through the eyelet, to the opposite hop mound and do the same for the other two mounds. This will create a teepee type effect and should work well and look nice at the same time. Has anyone else tried this type of "trellis" system?

I will continue to update this thread as the hops are progressing and document the process. Stay tuned...

This picture was taken at 8:30a and will get full sun until about 7pm. I think this will be a great spot. The next post by me will hopefully be some shoots peeking out of the soil.

Hops.jpg

So far so good...

I picked up some red cedar mulch and spread some of that around each mound to help contain moisture. After a few days, I went and brushed some of the mulch aside and low and behold there was a tiny little shoot working her way out of the soil. FANTASTIC!!! Now just waiting to see some signs of life from the Nuggets.