Hoppy Strong Scotch Ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wingless04

Reaction score
I am in the process of making a strong scotch ale/wee heavy recipe and was wondering what it would be like to add some hop character to it. I realize it would be out of style but it sounds good to me. I'm not sure if i should up the hops just a little, or if I should just go crazy with it. Does anyone have experience doing this? What would it be considered? I don't think I would want to add more bitterness, maybe just alot of aroma and/or dry hopping. What do you think?

It's funny that you should post this... I was wondering the exact same thing.

I love wee heavy, and i love hops. I was thinking a peat smoked whiskey malt, and a ton of dry hopping with like a goldings.

But I'm a noob and this would be my 4th boil, and 2nd bastardized recipe...

Bear Republic refers to their Red Rocket as "a bastardized Scottish style red ale that traces it's origins to our homebrew roots. This full bodied and hoppy brew finishes on the palate with sweet, caramel malt flavors."
Jamils amber is a clone of it if that sounds like what your aiming for

Whatever you do, you have to call it your "Hop Ness Monster".

I'd go with a normal hopping schedule, then dry hop with EKG, Fuggles, Stryian or some combo of them. Maybe Challenger or Palisade. I get some apricot from Palisade, which sounds like a nice complement to the maltiness of a strong scotch.