Honey Hefe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ManTail

Reaction score
Hi there, folks! I'm brand new to this hobby - currently, I have a Smooth Nut Brown sitting in a fermenter. I'm getting the bug to try my hand at putting my first recipe together from scratch. I'm looking for a mellow-tasting hefeweizen - something fruity, smooth with a bit of honey on the backend. Please keep in mind this is my first-ever recipe. I'm using BrewTarget to try to hit the numbers I'm searching for. Here's what I have:

HONEY HEFEY

5-gallon batch | 60-minute boil

Fermentables
2.5 lb - Briess DME Bavarian Wheat
2.5 lb - Briess LME Golden Light
1 lb - Honey
1/2 lb - Carapils (steeped)

Hops
1 oz - Hallertau (60 min.)
1/2 oz - Saaz (20 min.)

Miscellaneous
Orange peel zest from 4 oranges

Yeast
White Labs WLP380

In the primary for 3 weeks.

Bottle condition for 3 weeks.

Sooo - how close am I?! Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer!

Brandon

In general this looks great for a first recipe! I have some feedback though.

1) The honey will just get fermented out, and won't leave much honey flavor, even if you add it at the end of the boil or during primary. You can try a small amount of Honey Malt (0.5 lb maybe) if you want honey flavor. If you were counting on the honey for the fermentables you can certainly leave it in, it's just going to dry things out. Personally I'd do a little honey malt and boost the DME a bit to get the OG back to where it was.

2) A traditional hefe is somewhere in the neighborhood of 50/50 wheat malt and pilsner malt. The Briess Bavarian Wheat DME is 65/35 wheat/barley, so I'd suggest doing something like 4 lbs of the wheat DME to 1 lb of the golden light. Then you'll get roughly 50/50 wheat/barley.