Hill Farmstead Mimosa Clone?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ajbosco

Reaction score
Any ideas how to do something similar to this? It's a saison fermented with B.Clausenii and tangello/tangerine juice and zest. I've never used juice before in a beer.

I am going to try something like this soon. I have brewed a few beers with other fruit but never citrus (zest or juice). I was thinking that the best way would be to add the zest at flame out and the juice in the secondary. I would pitch the Brett C with a saison yeast right from the start. I've never actually had the beer though so it's hard for me to guess the grain bill or quantities of fruit. I read on another thread that the base was most likely rahr 2 row. Have you had any luck or brewed this beer yet?

Any ideas how to do something similar to this? It's a saison fermented with B.Clausenii and tangello/tangerine juice and zest. I've never used juice before in a beer.

I have little to add other than when I asked Shaun about using zest in a beer he said "always in the dry hop." So, I would add both the zest and juice in the secondary. I assume the zest and juice are coming from the same fruit, so adding them at the same time makes logistical sense anyway.

I experimented with this a little bit. The lesson learned for me, is that the juice will add a significant amount of citric acid, which builds upon the acids created by Brett (brett doesn't make a lot, but some) to make an almost unpleasantly sour beer. I'll be taking another stab at it, but my plan this time around is to adjust the pH of the fruit juice so that it provides flavor and sugar, but only a nominal amount of acid.