High FG for a Blonde Ale?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

_d_

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first Post:)!
My first home brew ever is a Golden Ale. I'm worried that I only got like 50% attenuation.

Heres my story:
  1. The recipe called for 6 lbs Pale LME and I steeped 1lb of crystal malts.
  2. Being a newbie, I used a rehydrated package of dry ale yeast (11.5g).
  3. The fermenter was kept in a closet that fluctuated from 65-75 (usually
    low with one-two hot days).
  4. It started to bubble within 12 hours and kept strong for a few days.
  5. I left it a week in the primary and took a sample when I racked to secondary, the OG was 1.045 and the FG was 1.022.

Does FG of 1.022 sound really high? Is there anything I can do this late in the game?

Thanks,

_d_

That's a bit high. Let it sit for another week and then check the gravity again

Thanks!

Is it common to experience additional fermentation once in the secondary, or did I rack this too early?

Well i guess ill be the first to tell u that secondary is soooooo yesterday. Many of us have found that it is much easier to just keep it in primary for 3 to 4 weeks (longer for high gravity).