Help with Russian Imperial Stout Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dr_Mantis

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm fairly new to the home brewing scene and wanted to try my hand at making my favorite style of beer - the Imperial Stout. My recipe is below and I've also attached it as an xml file. I used Brewtarget to make the recipe and I have two concerns.

Batch Size 18.927 L
Boil Size 11.356 L
Boil Time 60.000 min
Efficiency 70%
OG 1.126
FG 1.037
ABV 11.6%
Bitterness 49.3 IBU (Tinseth)
Color 156.5 ebc (Morey)

Fermentables

Total grain: 17.488 lb
Molasses 1.488 lb
Black (Patent) Malt 8.000 oz
Briess - Dark Chocolate Malt 16.000 oz
Simpsons - Coffee Malt 16.000 oz
Caramel/Crystal Malt - 120L 8.000 oz
Simpsons - Roasted Barley 16.000 oz

Hops
Magnum Pellet 6.000 oz Boil 60.000 min 49.3 IBU

Yeast
Wyeast - Scottish Ale Liquid 125.000 mL

First I'm worried that I've over hopped the brew. Brewtarget shows IBUs at 49.3, but some online calulators show IBUs at 150. I'd just like to have some idea so that I don't make the batch unbearable to drink. I chose to keep the hop addition as simple as possible since I'm new and son't want to get too compicated.

Second, I'm planning to use 125 ml Wyeast Scottish Ale. Is this enough if I use a basic starter or should I use additional yeast.

Thanks for all your help and if there are any other suggestions, I'm certainly open to any ideas.

View attachment RIS Recipe.xml

6oz of Magnum will make it too bitter, try 1 or 2oz @60min. Any flavor hop addition planned?

Thanks for the suggestion, I don't plan to do any hop flavoring on this batch since I prefer malty beers. I will cut the batch down to one ounce of magnum.

Hello,