Help with my IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b33risGOOD

Reaction score
I have put together my first partial mash recipe, an IPA. I would love to hear some feed back. I have never done a partial mash before and want to make sure I have the right amounts. Will I be able to handle these grains in a 16qt pot?

malt & fermentables

50% 4Lbs American Two-row Pale

38% 3Lbs Light Dry Malt Extract

13% 1LBS Crystal 40L (I dont know what this does)

Hops (based somewhat on yoopers recipe)

boil 1oz 60 mins 1.0 Warrior (15.2 AA)
boil .5oz 35 mins 0.5 Amarillo (8.5 AA)
boil .5oz 30 mins 0.5 Simcoe (12.2 AA)

Dry hop .5 Amarillo and Simcoe 62.7 IBU

Wyeast 1450-PC Denny's Favorite 50

Batch size: 5.0 gallons. Full 5 gallon boil.
Original Gravity

Final Gravity

Color
9° SRM / 18° EBC
(Gold to Copper)

I would also add hops at 10, 5 and Knock Out for that IPA aroma and flavor in addition to what you have.

10 min - 1 oz Amarillo
5 min - .75 oz Simcoe
Knock Out - .5 oz Amarillo + .5 oz Simcoe

I would love to hear some feed back.
I think that you will enjoy this beer. If you love hops - and why else would you be doing an IPA - I would follow BendBrewer's advice and bump up the late hop additions.

You'll be doing 5 lbs of grain - I'm assuming BIAB here - in a 4 gal pot. Should be no problem. Especially since
Batch size: 5.0 gallons. Full 5 gallon boil.
you obviously have a bigger pot for backup.

You asked about the Crystal 40L and what it does: it will add color and a background caramel sweetness. One pound is probably the max for what should be a fairly dry beer. But it's all about your preferences - this is why we brew!

Thx for the feedback guys.

My plan is to steep/Mash all the base grains and specialty grains in the 16qt pot.