Help with hops?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ArizonaGoalie

Reaction score
I've been brewing for a few years. Started with extract for a couple years, then moved onto all grain. I've got my brew day system dialed in and I LOVE creating recipes and brewing, just as much as drinking the final product.

I have a basic understanding of hops, and feel good about my ability to pick and choose specific hops to add late boil, flameout, and dry hop.

BUT I NEED SOME HELP understanding bittering better. When I create a recipe, I usually start by reviewing several online, then take what I like and formulate my version. But I see some of the exact same styles and recipes, especially with hoppy beer, where people use hops at 60 minutes, and some don't. Some skip 60 min and do a 30 min addition instead. And some use no bittering hops at all in their IPA/APA/Pale Ale.

Can someone explain bittering a little better to me (I understand why we need bittering hops) when it comes to why people skip them altogether or do a 30 min addition INSTEAD of 60? In simple terms? Most hop explanations online use a lot of big words that fly right over my beer drinking head.

Thanks in advance.

BTW - I'm brewing an all Amarillo IPA tonight, hence the spark for this thread. I know what I want to do with late additions and dry hopping, but stumped on a bittering addition.

When it comes to bittering you can do a 60 min or a 30 min. Brewers that do a 30 min may use more then a 60 min addition.

My favorite bittering hop is Magnum . I always use it for certain styles . When I build a recipe I know how many ibu's I'm looking for so I adjust .