Help w/ Imperial Amber Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

riored4v

Reaction score
Was thinking of ordering up the Imperial Amber Ale AHS has on sale right now for my second PM brew.

I emailed them to get an idea of the hops used and this is what they have listed: Premiant hops for bittering and Sladek hops for
flavor and aroma. The total IBUs for the recipe is 57.3.

And this is what is listed on their site: This beer is hoppy with a good amount of malt to back it up. Amber red in color and aggressively hopped for balance. It features 120L malt and Amber malt extract. O.G.=1.070. Approximately 7% ABV

Mini Mash: 8 lbs. Liquid Malt Extract, 1.25 lbs. Base Grains, .75 lb. Specialty Grains.

I have zero experience with the hops listed above, and honestly don't even know if I've had a beer that has had those hops before.

I want to make this kit nice and hoppy though.. i'd really like to make it something like Nugget Nectar since I've heard so many good things about that Imperial Amber.

What could I do for this brew hop wise to make it better?

I was also thinking of opting for the 1% abv increase which would bring it to around 8%. Is that to much alcohol for White Labs European Ale yeast? I looked it up and it says it has a moderate alcohol tolerance. Maybe add some "yeast fuel" to the purchase??

Any help would be appreciated as this would be my first Imperial brew along with my first Amber.

never had nugget nectar but if that description of there beer is correct and it has a decent-large malt back to it then the increased alcohol will do fine...I just brewed an Imperial IPA and it was 75IBU with a FG of 1.019 so pretty malty and it was fine finished out at 7.5%abv