help please...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rustynail84

Reaction score
Brand new to posting in the forum, but have been reading it for a few months now. A while back i decided to make some blackberry wine. Finally got around to starting it 3 days ago. I made 2 batches in 3 gallon buckets.

10 lb berries frozen and thawed
1.5 tsp pectic enzyme
3 tsp yeast nutrient
3 camden tab
6.25 lb sugar
2.5 gallons water

Let sit for about 30 hrs and added Cotes de Blanc yeast.

One batch is fermenting great, just bubbling away. The other bubbled slowly the first day then tapered to nothing the second day. Today is day 3 and its doing nothing. I am fairly new to making wine and didnt have a hydrometer when i put the batches together. I got one today but dont know how to interpret the readings. Any suggestions or advice on what to do about the second batch would be extremely appreciated.

An hydrometer will tell you how dense a liquid is compared to pure water. Water is given a nominal density of 1.000. When you make wine the density is for all intents and purposes caused by the sugars in the fruit and with fruits all the sugar is fermentable. That means a reading of the juice (plus any fermentable sugar you have added) will give you an idea of the potential alcohol level that can be made by the yeast.
Approximately 1 lb of sugar (including the sugars in the fruit ) in one gallon of liquid will give you a reading of 1.040 and a reading of 1.040 is equivalent to about 5% alcohol by volume. A wine typically starts with a gravity of about 1.090 which is about 12%.