Help needed on first batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

azazel1024

Reaction score
So I am relatively new to brewing (beer) with a few batches under my belt and an all grain one. I have a couple of back-to-back brews coming up in 3 weekends.

However, it is fall, I love my cider, dry, wet, whatever. I am also feeling my oats and I want to give brewing dry cider a try.

I've read some of the stuff on here and poked around the internet a bit more too.

I am shooting for a dry cider my first time out. I had a couple of questions and was hoping for a critique if my plan/recipe.

I plan on fermenting 2 gallons of cider. My local pick-your-own does cider and it is also unfermented (99% sure, my wife is checking and will pickup 2 gallons if that is the case when she is there this Friday).

I was planning on not trying to pasteurize and simply go for a very dry cider. Make sure it has fermented completely, add priming sugar and bottle. Is this going to be a disaster? I personally prefer my ciders dry, but is this going to be way too dry for even someone who likes them dry (IE do typical dry ciders really have more sugars left in them than I think they have?)? Another question is, is it possible to bottle with carbing? Or will this lead to oxidation/vinegar in short order if it isn't carbed? I'd be a little curious to try some bottled carbed and uncarbed, but not if it is likely to impact shelf life significantly (since I am looking at 2 gallons, minus sediment/yeast cake, I assume we are talking maybe 20 bottles max, so probably drunk in a month or two).

Okay, so here was my plan.