Help me plan my brew setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

specialkayme

Reaction score
I've been brewing on and off for about 15 years. I started when I was in college, super poor, and had to make do with some cheaper equipment options. I tried to incorporate one new piece of equipment with each batch, in order to spread the investment cost. Now I can afford better, but am stuck on what my options are.

Currently, I use a 12 gallon regular pot with lid that serves as my mash tun and kettle, with a (3 brews down) BIAB set up, all on the home stove. I ferment in glass carboys in my freezer turned fermentation vessel. It's not a perfect set up, as I have to use a ladder to hoist up the BIAB after mashing, and lifting those 6.5 or so gallons is heavy. Plus I'm losing considerable heat from the kettle that is serving as my mash tun, and my wife isn't super thrilled about using the stove for brew time.

I'm looking to increase my mash tun, kettle, brew options. The way I see it I have three options:

A: Slowly upgrade with 1) a 10 gallon cooler mash tun, 2) propane heating element, and 3) 15 gallon SS Kettle (total estimated cost probably $520 ish)

B: Slowly upgrade with 1) a 10 gallon SS mash tun, 2) propane heating element, and 3) 15 gallon SS Kettle (total estimated cost probably $770 ish)

C: Just go straight into an all in one, electric setup like UniBrau or Grainfather (probably end up costing $1,100 ish)

Upgrading slowly has its downsides. Namely I just get my system down, the incorporate a new piece of equipment that throws off my efficiency or boiloff rate or something else. But I'm also not dropping a grand upfront, and I get to try out alot of different brew options (like no sparge, fly sparge, and batch sparge) along the way.