Help me plan a beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jiMithing83

Reaction score
My wife is pregnant with our first child, due in 3 months. I have decided to brew her something for when she can drink again, need some help picking something out.

A little background info on her:
She hates (HATES) hoppy beer.
She likes stouts, but is finicky about them and also doesn't think she'll want one in the spring, or after 9 months of no drinking.
She likes "light" beers (not the BMC kind, but wheats, hefes, blondes, etc.) and brown ales, but hasn't branched out much more than that.

A little background info on me:
I just bottled my second batch, so I'm not very experienced yet.
I do not have lager capabilities.
We are moving soon, and I am not sure what the temperature profile of the new place is yet. I did make sure there is a nice huge closet for my primary and secondary to avoid sunlight... err, I mean her clothes.

So, what are your suggestions? So far I'm considering a Kolsch or Weizenbier.
Thanks!

Congrats! My wife is due in 9 days!! I have a cider ready to go in the next available keg and I did a Maris otter cascade smash that will go in the second available keg. She should be pleased with both. Look up edworts apfelwein. 3 months should be a good time frame for that.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Congrats! My wife is due in 9 days!! I have a cider ready to go in the next available keg and I did a Maris otter cascade smash that will go in the second available keg. She should be pleased with both. Look up edworts apfelwein. 3 months should be a good time frame for that.

Congrats to you as well! I don't know that a 9% beverage is the best idea for her after 9 months dry, but I want to try that, sounds like a great summer drink. :mug: