Help me pick what equipment to buy next

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mxpx5678

Reaction score
I am just starting out and have one batch under my belt and about to start another. I am wondering what piece of equipment I should get next. I don't totally love the bottling process so I am considering kegging. Here is what I do have.

4 gallon pot (originally just a large stock / steamer pot)
2 6 gallon fermenter buckets
1 5 gallon bucket (I use this just for general cleaning of equipment)
Auto siphon, tubing and bottle filler.
Thermometer
Hydrometer
Large spoon
Lids and airlocks
Bottle caper.
Grain bags.

Some things I am considering are like I said kegging stuff. Or a 5 or 7 gallon pot. Maybe a wort chiller. Though chilling in ice bath in my sink seemed to work well.

Thanks for any advice you can give a newbie! I am already hooked.

Wort chiller. You will want this. Full boils improved my beers a lot, and a wort chiller will be next to necessary when you do full boils.

That said, it will also be a huge help if you make the jump to all grain.

People may argue over the need for a wort chiller but it's definitely a very useful convenience. You may want to look at getting a larger pot or turkey fryer. Personally I think the ability to do a full boil precedes the need to chill a full boil so I'd start with the larger pot -- if your stove can handle it (probably not) -- or a turkey fryer.

If you really hate bottling, yeah, the keg system might make the most sense.

I would buy two things.
A. Larger brew kettle
B. A mash tun

You have all the tools to make the jump to AG. The process for AG is not very difficult. Practice makes perfect.