HELP: All hoppy beers develop same flavor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rab53

Reaction score
To preface, I have been brewing for 10+ years the last 2 on my current system. In the past year, I have made 6 hoppy beers, IPA/DIPA/Pale Ale/IPL. Each developed the exact same aroma shortly after kegging. The smell is what I can describe as 'overripe fruit', like maybe an old squishy apple (but not fresh green apple). Flavor gets dull and a bit sweet. Bitterness goes away, even the Pliny clone DIPA. Color stays consistent, no perceived darkening even on the palest beers.

Process for every beer involves building water from RO. I have used high sulfate profiles (300 ppm) for most of these beers, but lower (75 pmm) on last batch to try and rule that out as a cause.
Mash pH ranged from 5.4-5.6 room temp. This is my next target for testing, trying for lower target.
Fermentation is done in conical with spunding valve. I usually leave it at 0 psi until fermentation is finished then increase pressure, but have set it to 5 psi near tail end as well.
Dry hops are added through lid via CO2-purgeable sight glass apparatus. Sometimes during active fermentation, sometimes after.
Fermentation temperature is tightly controlled with glycol/heat wrap.
No issues ever reaching final gravity. Beer is cold crashed and trub/hops are dumped within 2 weeks. Gravity samples taste good to great.
Kegs are filled with sanitizer and purged with CO2. Line gets hooked up from TC valve to out post on keg. Hose is purged with beer and keg is filled under CO2 pressure.
Keg goes into lager fridge and carbed once chilled.
I use the same process for all my beers, but only have issues with the hoppy styles. German lagers, Belgian ales, stouts, etc are fine.