Help! 2nd Batch Infected!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gbuttar

Reaction score
*warning, long post ahead*
Hello

I am new to brewing and to this forum, and recently finished my second batch, a Honey Basil Ale (http://www.tastybrew.com/newrcp/detail/507) – an extract with steeped grains. I followed the recipe exactly. My first batch, a very simple extract pale ale went very smoothly (no off flavors). I am fairly certain however that this bath has some sort of infection

I first noticed it in my secondary just before bottling – an almost invisible thin film. Smelled and tasted great so I racked from under it anyway and bottled it – most of the film stuck to the sides of the glass carboy I was racking out of. I came very close to my calculated OG and FG. After about a few days in bottles, the film reappeared (translucent frosty film, around neck of bottle about ¼” up past the liquid). Now, after almost 3 weeks, the film has disappeared (dropped out or got washed out when I moved the bottles), but the sour taste (acidic, not really vinegary) had gotten much more prominent (pretty much undrinkable, couldn’t finish a whole bottle). The last one I opened also gushed – I moved the bottles to the bath tub as a precaution (fear of bottle bombs).

I followed the recipe exactly, and fermented 2 weeks my primary (plastic ale pale) and 2 weeks in my secondary (glass carboy) before bottling, with tap water filled airlocks in place. All my equipment is new except my fermenters (from a friend, both in excellent shape, no serious scratches on the plastic). I did a partial boil which I topped off in the primary, all water being store bought spring water.