Hefeweizen recipee

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cavman22

Reaction score
Hello,

I got a hefewiezen kit from my local brew shop. It has the following ingredients:

6 lbs wheat LME
1 oz hallertau 60min

I pack of wyeast 3068

I was planning on splitting the LME and boiling 3lbs for 60 min and 3lbs at flameout for a lighter color. I believe the kit calls for boiling all 6 pounds for 60 min. Will this mess the IBU's up a lot? My boil will start with 3gal and I will top off with about 2.5.

Sorry for the dumb question, I just know these hefe's are sensitive to IBU's.

I don't know squat about IBU's since 1) I'm a total rookie, and 2) I avoid bitter beer like IPA and most pale ales at all costs, which is one of the reasons I like hefe... real Bavarian-style hefe, with the German yeast. I can, however, offer a comment on my first batch of hefe which is now 10-days in the primary. My recipe had 6# of wheat LME also, which was very dark caramel brown in the container. When I filled my primary carboy to the 5-gallon mark, I was a little concerned about how dark it was. After 5 days or so it began to lighten and I could smell that wonderful hefe smell coming through the airlock. At about 8 days much of the sediment had settled and it had lightened up considerably to the point where it will probably be typical hefe color in a glass. I plan to rack to a secondary just to clear it up a little; I'd prefer "slightly cloudy" to "sediment soup". Just my 2 cents on color. Good luck with yours!

No it won't mess with the IBU's much if any. Seems like you could use 1/2lb of Carapils or something for steeping grains. I'd actually use a little less LME at 60 minutes, maybe only 1 or 2 lbs instead of 3.