Head retention issues

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ABV Motleybrew

Reaction score
Does anyone have any ideas how I can get better head retention on more lightly hopped beers?
I've got about 30 BIAB batches under my belt so I'm not a complete noob, but I'm struggling to get good head (fnar)
The hoppy beers like IPAs arnt a problem, the foam sticks around all night! But things like lagers, kolsches, bocks, even heffes with 60% wheat just dont hold their head. I recently made a dunkelwiess with 50% wheat and the head was like pouring a glass of coke.
I've watched guys on youtube making lager from 100% pilsner and the head sticks round for ages, but when I copy the recipe I'd say mine lasts 2 minutes max!
I bottle my beer pretty fizzy (about 2.2 vol for lager & 3-3.5 for heffs), dont clean anything with detergent, dont get off flavours, tried different mash temps, different fermentation temps.... I'm at a total loss. The only way I can get good head retention is to stick loads on hops in, which ain't gunna do my helles any good.

Any suggestions?

2.2 for a lager seems low, try upping to 2.4-2.8.

You can try adding up to 5% of Carafoam or wheat to improve head retention. You are bottling, so spunding is out...that's where you keg a beer before it's done fermenting and use the CO2 from fermentation to carbonate the beer. That leads to smaller bubbles and a stronger head. Hoppy beers in general hold a head longer because of some kind of reaction between hops and the beer.