Have I been muting my beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bransona

Reaction score
Hi, all. I've been brewing for a few years now, and one common character of my beers has been a general dullness. Not bad or off flavors, just a lack of strong, delicious flavors that I find in commercial brews. I've tweaked a million things and had very little change, from grains to hops to yeast to temps to etc. I had always been told my water was a good start to brew with with no additions.

Well, I ran a recent water report through Bru'n water (because I think I need to finally learn some chemistry), and HOLY CRAP was I way over my expected pH. Bru'n water estimated my typical pale brew mash pH to only be reaching 5.8-6.0. Yikes.

Based on the spreadsheet, I added enough phosphoric acid to hit the 5.41-5.44 area in my first-ever full-volume mash. The beer is now crashing with gelatin and will be kegged tonight, but I'm super anxious.

What did I really change here? What difference will the mash pH make? I hear a lot of talk about it and don't know what to expect! If it goes well, my next step will likely be a sulfate addition since my water has basically no profile beyond alkalinity.

It wasnt until i got an RO system and started tweaking the water chemistry to suit my specific beer styles and measuring ph that my beers started becoming more brewery quality imo. Im sure martin will give you a good explanation on mash ph but ive read it helps extract better in the 5.2 to 5.4 range. Ive been brewing for 11 years and the ro system was the best investment ive ever made last year. I liked my beer okish before but it was always lacking something. The water fixed it. You could try using ro water from the grocery store to see if that changes things for you