Has your taste in beer changed since you bagan brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beergolf

Reaction score
Before I started brewing, I did always like a lot of different styles of beer, but probably 95% of the time I would just grab an IPA from the store.

I always liked Belgians a lot, and Saisons too but rarely drank them at home, but would often order them when I went out. I would buy some stout in the cooler months.

Now that I am brewing I am drinking a lot more of these styles on a regular basis. I currently have on hand 4 different Belgians (Blonde, Dubbel, Trippel and a dark strong ale) and 2 different Saisons.

Planning some brews for the cooler weather, stouts, porters and maybe some more Belgian strong dark ales. yum.

Gotta love this hobby/addiction. Making good tasty brews is fun and very satisfying. :mug:

Funny, I was going to say something similar, that Belgians and such are more interesting to me now. Used to be a pure hophead all that way -- well, I still am I guess, but I'm a little more interested in diversity now.

I wouldn't call it so much "changed" as "expanded". So many more styles than I was aware existed, and I have that habit almost every brew is a style I haven't brewed before. At the bar, I still typically fall back on APAs, IPAs, and hefes, but that's more due to craft brew availability than taste (all the good selection beer bars around here are more expensive than I can routinely afford, however, when I can, I always try something I've never tried before)

Began. A lot more hops these day's, I'm much pickier