Has my beer got an infection? Help Please ... WLP090 over 72hrs to start

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simplepleasuresbrwery

simplepleasuresbrewery
Reaction score
Hi All

This is my first post to this forum - I have been brewing for over 4 years. I do a lot of harvesting of yeast from starters - have made starters from my very first homebrew and have a technique where I calculate the starter volumes using Homebrew Dad's Yeast Starter calculator and BeerSmith. I tend to shake my yeast starters in a conical flask at 160-200rpm using an old lab gyrator. I have over 40 yeast strains at various generations and have only ever had about 5 stuck fermentations.

Now to my issue - it is getting quite difficult to get new yeast of different strains during the prolonged lockdown here in the Scotland so I thought I would embark on an experiment with older yeast harvesting (this month I am making lots of 10 gallon batches - splitting and pitching different yeast strains in each 5 gallon batch). I decided to start the experiment with a 3yr old saison yeast wlp565 (which is tricky when new) - no issues made 2 starters a 3l starter and then a 2.5l. Harvested enough for another batch and pitched. Saison fermented well and ended nice and dry - even better than wlp568 in the other fermenter.