Harvesting yeast issue

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jheist

Reaction score
So I have been harvesting (not washing) yeast for a few months now. Currently WLP 001 which just came out of a wheat pale ale batch. I just brewed a rye pale ale and pitched around 10 ounces of harvested yeast. We are nearing 48 hours without any krauzen activity seen in my better bottle. I'm getting nervous and going to fix that with a repitch today.

My question is: what did I do wrong? My primary theory is I pulled my harvested yeast out of the fridge and pitched it directly into 70 degree wort. Sounds like I shocked and killed my yeast. Looking back through several posts both on harvesting and washing there is no mention of letting the yeast in the fridge warm up prior to pitching but perhaps that is common knowledge I missed.

I hope this was my problem because I love harvesting and pitching yeast. I have been pitching harvested yeast (at room temp after racking) regularly with no issues until now.

Thanks for the help!

70 would not kill it. You should let the yeast reach room temperature. They go dormant in the cold as you know, and vitality can decrease (depending on how long and how cold it was). So while you pitched 10 ounces it is possible not all of it was still viable.

Was it somewhat whiteish, or yellow/brown like peanut butter? The problem may be before it went into the fridge. What technique did you use? Have you taken a gravity reading? What was the OG? Krausen does not rise immediately after fermentation begins.

When yeast harvesting, it is a good idea to make a starter. If at least just to make sure something is still alive in there, and wake them up to reduce lag time.