Hard apple cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So on Christmas Eve, I put 4 gallons of pasteurized but no additive apple cider into my 5gal carboy, and added 1 package of Safeale US 05. It has bubbled away since then. I took a sample today, and tried to get a reading. I couldn't find my new hydrometer, and the older one I have measures only proof and tralles. The test showed that my cider measures at 0 tralles and doesn't even register on the proof scale. I tasted it, and it does taste much drier than cider, almost like a reds apple ale, and very carbonated, but Im questioning whether theres any alcohol in it since it won't even register on the proof scale of my hydrometer. I know, Im a newbie, but any advice would be appreciated. Its been fermenting for 10 days, and I planned on leaving it in the primary for 3-4 weeks.

I'm not completely familiar with the use of an alcoholometer, but from what I understand it is for distilled spirits and will not properly ready the gravity of Beer, Wine or Cider. Apparently it reads the alcohol percentage in WATER/ALCOHOL solutions only.

You're going to need to find the hydrometer for accurate readings. It sounds like it's been fermenting so I'd say it's got alcohol in it. ;) Just estimate that the original juice was around 1.050 somewhere and then you can calculate with your reading (from the hydrometer) If you want it to be more accurate you can get more of your original juice and take a OG reading from that.

It is odd to see it go below 1 but it will... Did you take a reading on start that would tell you if it's booze. I'm sure it probably is though. Drink a glass and find out, ha.

Sent from my SGH-T769 using Home Brew mobile app