Gunk floating at top of bottle. What is it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scottyman1986

Reaction score
First, if I’m not posting correctly or in the correct place I apologize. I’m a beginner at forums. But I just bottled my IPA 2 Days ago and see this at neck of bottle. 2nd batch brewed extract. First batch didn’t have this but I did completely different.
I primary and secondaried in a conical fermenting bucket. The ss brewtech brew bucket doesn’t have a trub drop, so it all stayed. Dried hopped in a hop bag. Cold crashed at 38-40 degrees and bottled from the same vessel (racking valve on fermenter).

I bottled in 22oz bottles with fermenters best carbonating tabs. Per instructions I used 2 tabs per bottle.

Is this normal? TYIA

View attachment IMG_3789.jpg

Last edited:
I've got 2 theories. How was your cleaning and sanitary practices with the bottles? I'm thinking it's leftover gunk that was on the bottom of the bottle from the first batch that came loose and floated to the top. It'll be harmless (unless it's mold) but might contribute some off flavors of what could have been. When I bottle, I use 1/8th teaspoon of PBW in each bottle with hot water filled to the top and let sit overnight. Dump, brush out the bottle, rinse, and use star san to sanitize. My second thought is with all that trub and hop material, if you accidentally roused it up and didn't let it settle prior to bottle will cause little floaties. Again, not harmful but might contribute off flavors.
Cheers and good luck!