growing hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

travellingman

Reaction score
I plan on growing an acre of hops this year, I'm not a home brewer but I am a farmer looking for a niche commodity. I've done all my research and have ordered my hops rhizomes, I have 500 acres of corn and beans at the moment and I'm going to start at an acre of hops and if its profitable I'll expand. My questions are, who should appeal to at first for sales, the home brewer, small breweries, supply companies, etc? Do most home brewers prefer dry hops or fresh? How much does the average home brewer buy a year? Is there an organic demand? Any insight on any of these questions would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

It will take 2-3 years for them to develop the bittering qualities and your yields will also be low. But after that your crops should sell.
First of all I would approach a local brewpub to see if there would be any interest. that could get publicity for both of you and generate some local interest. A local homebrew club might also be a good place to sell some.
There is no "average" homebrewer, some of us brew vast amounts, some 3 or 4 batches per year. Personally, I probably go through about 10-15 pounds of hops each year, but I also use a wide variety of different hops. What kind are you planting? where are you? That will also be critical for the quality of your hops.

I'm growing half centennial and half cascade in northern Illinois. I expect poor yields the first two years but with what I do harvest is it usable to brewers or should I discard it? What hops do you normally use? Do you grow your own?